F1 changes this weekend’s Emilia Romagna Grand Prix schedule out of respect for the Royal funeral

A minute of silence in honour of Prince Philip will also be observed ahead of Qualifying

By Yuri Coghe
@yuricoghe
The qualifying will now start 8 AM EST, 5 AM Pacific Time; All three free practices have also been moved (Photo: F1.com)

The schedule for this weekend’s Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Imola has been changed out of respect for the funeral service of His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, Formula One and the FIA have confirmed on Tuesday.

The qualifying will now take place at 8 AM Eastern Time, 5 AM Pacific Time, to avoid a clash with the Royal funeral on Saturday. A minute of silence will also be observed ahead of Qualifying.

All three free practice sessions have also been moved to comply with the following schedule regulations:
– the qualifying must start two hours after free practice 3;
– Free practices 1 and 2 need to be separated by at least two and a half hours;
– Free practice 2, on Friday, and free practice 3, on Saturday, need to be separated by at least 19 hours.

The first free practice will now start at 5 AM Eastern Time, 2 AM Pacific Time, with the second one starting at 8.30 AM Eastern Time, 5.30 AM Pacific Time. Free practice 3, on Saturday, begins at 5 AM Eastern Time, 2 AM Pacific Time. The race on Sunday is still scheduled for 9 AM Eastern Time, 6 AM Pacific Time.

Prince Philip, who had been married to Queen Elizabeth II since 1947, died at the age of 99 at Windsor Castle on Friday. He’s the longest-serving consort in British history.

Read also:

Home hero, mourning and controversy: the story behind the race-winning car Ferrari gifted Leclerc
Mercedes boss Toto Wolff talks driver lineup past and present ahead of ‘silly season’

3 thoughts on “F1 changes this weekend’s Emilia Romagna Grand Prix schedule out of respect for the Royal funeral

Comments are closed.